Review: “Sworn to Raise” (Courtlight #1) di Terah Edun

 Sworn to Raise è il romanzo d’apertura di una nuova serie YA Fantasy (più sul genere high fantasy), chiamata Courtlight, ad opera dell’americana Terah Edun. Sebbene sia stato pubblicato ad aprile di quest’anno, è già in arrivo il suo seguito  "Sworn to Transfer" tra qualche settimana, il 20 Settembre. E si parla della probabile uscita del terzo volume già nell’inverno del 2013. Questo romanzo è al momento disponibile solo in inglese. 

Per saperne di più su Terah Edun e sui libri che scrive, visitate il suo sito internet (qui)

Ho ricevuto l’ARC di questo libro grazie a NetGalley in cambio di un’onesta opinione.

[ENG] Sworn to Raise is the opening novel of a new YA Fantasy series (more on the high fantasy genre), called Courtlight, by the american writer Terah Edun. Although it has been published in April of this year, is already coming its sequel “Sworn to Transfer” in a few weeks, on September 20. And we talk about the likely release of the third volume already in the winter of 2013. This novel is currently only available in English.

To learn more about Terah Edun and the books she writes, visit her website (here).

I received the ARC of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest opinion.

imagePaperback: 274 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (April 10, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1481918087
ISBN-13: 978-1481918084
Price: $8,99 (Paperback) – $4.12 (Kindle) 
Book Description:

[ENG] Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the empire. But beneath her empire’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companions Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron. 

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.

[ITA] La diciassettenne Ciardi è cresciuta nella povertà, una lavandaia in una piccola valle alla periferia dell’impero. Ma sotto la superficie apparentemente idilliaca del suo impero si nasconde un segreto nascosto. Sussurri di un inetto principe ereditario stanno crescendo sempre di più – intensificati dal quinto anniversario dell’iniziazione dell’unione delle anime.

Tra dicerie scandalose, Ciardi si ritrova scelta per allenarsi per la Companions Guild. Lascia la sua casa e parte per un viaggio personale per diventare una Court Companion. Una posizione che non aveva mai pensato possibile per una serva da ottenere, dovrà dimostrare che ha le capacità di attrarre un Patrono.

Ma lei dovrà padroneggiare quelle abilità rapidamente. Se le leggende sono vere, solo Ciardi può sfruttare il suo potere per elevare un principe in una corte imperiale che ha giurato di farlo cadere.

Un debutto sensazionale di una serie che mescola intricate trame con personaggi straordinari e magie indimenticabili. Sworn To Raise è l’ideale per gli appassionati di Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, e Maria Snyder. //

Recensione

Inutile dire che appena ho letto la trama sono andata subito a richiedere questo libro. E’ esattamente quel genere di fantasy che più apprezzo, un high fantasy con intrighi di corte, poteri magici e una protagonista con una forte personalità.

Ciardi è una giovane ragazza che prende la prima chance a sua disposizione per allontanarsi dalla piccola valle in cui ha sempre vissuto, sapendo bene che lì non c’è più niente per lei, né amore  né famiglia. E’ un’ottima tintora, una delle migliori, e sarà proprio così che viene a conoscenza con quella che diventerà la sua sponsor nella Gilda dei Court Companions, Serena. Il percorso di crescita di Ciardi inizia da qui, in particolare da quando incontra questa donna enigmatica che vede in lei, orfana di una gypsy, una potenziale cortigiana. Ma dovrà essere allenata per passare la dura selezione della Gilda e per tentare di ottenere un Patrono (un cliente abituale che paga tutte le spese delle cortigiane) durante la Patron Hunt, una vera e propria sfida di tre giorni per accaparrarsi l’uomo (o la donna) più ricco e di alto lignaggio. Nella Gilda viene ammessa anche Sarah, la pupilla di Vana, un’altra sponsor della Gilda in competizione con Serena. E da qui inizierà anche la “battaglia” tra le due sponsor, che si odiano palesemente. Ma all’orizzonte ci sono tante novità per la giovane Ciardi: scoprirà di avere anche lei un potere magico e soprattutto conoscerà l’erede al trono Sebastian che avrà bisogno del suo aiuto per salvare l’impero.

Molti sono i personaggi interessanti che forse avrebbero meritato più spazio all’interno delle vicende narrate, in particolare la sponsor Serena, di cui a volte non ho ben capito le intenzioni. Sebbene sia scritto in terza persona, è facile identificarsi con la giovane protagonista e comprendere il suo punto di vista. Il rapporto tra Sebastian e Ciardi ha un che di innovativo nei romanzi di questo genere, dato che il primo è più piccolo della seconda. La loro amicizia sboccerà abbastanza presto e non è detto che non si trasformi in qualcosa di più (almeno io ci spero, non so voi!). 

La Gilda delle Companions rimane un bel punto interrogativo e le descrizioni date nel corso del romanzo sembrano solo un assaggio rispetto a ciò che si cela dietro questa congrega. Sono curiosissima di scoprire il resto e soprattutto di conoscere le storie delle altre Companions. 

Mi è piaciuta molto la trama, decisamente un po’ meno la tempistica con cui si è scoperto il potere “nascosto” (e l’identità) di Ciardi, un passaggio che mi è sembrato molto affrettato, soprattutto perché credo che un po’ di tempo in più senza poteri sarebbe stato più interessante. Anche il finale risulta troppo veloce, ma al contrario ha il potere di tenere incollato il lettore al libro. 

“Sworn to Raise” è un romanzo ben scritto estremamente interessante, che, sebbene non dia tutte le risposte alle domande che il lettore si pone durante la lettura, invoglia a continuare la saga e a scoprire meglio i personaggi e il loro mondo. 

Review 

Needless to say, as soon as I read the story, I went immediately to request this book. This is exactly the kind of fantasy I like best, an high fantasy with court intrigue, magic powers and a protagonist with a strong personality.

Ciardi is a young girl who takes the first chance at her disposal to get away from the small valley in which she has always lived, knowing full well that there’s nothing there for her, neither love nor family. She is a very good dyer, one of the best, and thanks to her work she gets acquainted with who will become his sponsor into the Guild of Court Companions, Serena. The growth of Ciardi starts here, particularly when she meets this enigmatic woman who sees in her, an orphan of a gypsy, a potential courtesan. But she will have to be trained to pass the tough selection of the Guild and groped to get a patron (a frequent customer who pays all the expenses of the courtesans) during the Patron Hunt, a real challenge of three days to grab the man (or the woman) more rich and high-born. In the Guild also enters Sarah, the pupil of Vana, another sponsor of the Guild in competition with Serena. From here will also begin the “battle” between the two sponsors, who hate each other clearly. But there are a lot of news on the horizon for the young Ciardi: she will discover having magical power too and above all she will know the heir to the throne, Sebastian, who will need her help to save the empire.

There are many interesting characters who perhaps should have deserved more space within the story, especially the sponsors Serena, because sometimes I did not really understand her intentions. Although it is written in the third person, it is easy to identify with the young protagonist and understand her point of view. The relationship between Sebastian and Ciardi has an innovative element compared to the novels of this kind, since the first is younger than the second. Their friendship will blossom soon enough and is not said that it does not become something more (at least I hope so!).

The Guild of the Companions is a nice question mark and the descriptions given in the during the novel seem just a taste compared to what lies behind this group. I’m curious to discover the rest and above all know the stories of the other Companions.

I loved the plot, quite a bit less the timing with which it was discovered the “hidden” power (and identity) of Ciardi, a passage that seemed very rushed, especially because I think a little more time without power would have been more interesting. Even the ending is too fast, but otherwise has the power to keep the reader glued to the book.

“Sworn to Raise” is a well-written novel extremely interesting, that although does not give all the answers to the questions that the reader arises during reading, makes you want to continue the saga and discover more about the characters and their world.

And if you still have doubts, here’s the book trailer!

[E se avete ancora dei dubbi, eccovi il booktrailer!]

Consigliato: a chi ama il genere high fantasy e le saghe ambientate nelle corti dei palazzi con intrighi misteriosi. 

Recommended: for those who love the genre high fantasy and the sagas set in the courts of the palaces with mysterious intrigue.


Voto/Rating: 3.5/5 Gocce 

imageimageimageimage

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page

Comments

comments

Leave a Reply